The Thor Message Board >> View Post
Post By

In Reply To
Volstagg jr

Subj: Re: Okay Its Time to Grade the Thor Scribes from the Past 10 years Starting with Jurgen to Fraction
Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2012 at 10:48:25 am EST (Viewed 15 times)
Reply Subj: Okay Its Time to Grade the Thor Scribes from the Past 10 years Starting with Jurgen to Fraction
Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 at 04:25:52 pm EST (Viewed 37 times)

    Forgive me if I miss anyone. Who is the best to worst of the Thor scrbes?

    We have the following:

    Dan Jurgens

4/10. Major disappointment after his work on Superman. The early stuff was rehashed, cliche nonsense. King Thor was an intriguing but poorly executed concept. Reminded me a lot of DeFalco's run; Thor for philistines.

    Mike Oeming

8/10. Accomplished more with a handful of issues than any scribe since Simonson. Given more time or an extended run could have been a 9 or maybe more.


5/10. I liked the regal and aloof take on Thor, but the Oklahoma idea was assinine - a mistake that is the biggest thorn in the Thor mythos since the 60 sec rule. Can we put Asgard back already!! Also, his handle on the Odinpower, or lack thereof, was essentially unforgivable.

    Keiron Gillen

6/10. Liked it. Not great but not bad. Brought some tension and much better pacing to the book.


Pass. Didn't read his stuff.

    Matt Fraction

1/10. And thats being generous. Guy doesn't get Thor. At all. His Ages of Thunder minis proved mythology is completely foreign to him and his trainwreck of a run on Thor bears it out. Worst thing to happen to Thor since the aforementioned DeFalco.

    Which one of the guys have brought the most glory to The Thunder God? Please give your reasons for your ranking/

No glory really. Gillen managed not to disgrace him, Oeming gave him a brief moment, and the rest should have been fired after three issues.

Posted with Microsoft Internet Explorer 7 5.0; on Windows 7
Alvaro's Comicboards powered by On Topic™ © 2003-2022 Powermad Software
All the content of these boards Copyright © 1996-2022 by Comicboards/TVShowboards. Software Copyright © 2003-2022 Powermad Software